Labor law – my “specialist subject” since the start of my professional career

After completing studies in Law at the University of Bonn, I worked as a legal trainee at the Labor Court of Siegburg and at other institutions. After this I took up positions as an attorney for an employer’s association and for a law firm in Bonn with a focus on labor law. At the same time, I worked on my doctorate in the field of labor law, which I completed at the University of Bielefeld.

Even after moving into the area of human resources management, I was constantly occupied with labor law and associated legal fields, such as social law and social security law, tax law and company law. As an executive manager for human resources, I was able to gain experience in a wide variety of business sectors: Firstly as human resources manager for a transport and logistics subsidiary of a major airline company from Hanover. After this, I was Head of Personnel with international responsibilities for globally active US-American service and engineering companies located in Celle which serve the oil and gas industry. Then as Director of Human Resources for a global automotive supplier company in the chemical industry, I was responsible for facilities in Germany (Hanover and Nienburg), Sweden and South Africa.

Working in commercial enterprises also involved membership in tariff commissions in the chemical and metal industry, and in the German Association of Executives for the chemical industry. It also led to my appointment as an honorary magistrate in the Higher Labor Court in the German Federal State of Lower Saxony, and in the Social Court of Hannover. I have collaborated for many years with the national and international committees of the German Association for Personnel Management (DGfP) , as well as with local personnel management committees. I have also been actively involved in basic and advanced training for personnel experts at an inter-company level. Moreover I am lecturer for Human Resources Management at the Ostfalia University of Applied Sciences Salzgitter – Suderburg – Wolfenbüttel – Wolfsburg.

In order to be able to offer a consistently high level of current expertise in consultation, support and specialist areas as an attorney for labor law and mediator, I am a member of the Working Group for Labor Law of the German Bar Association and the German Association of Labor Courts, and avail of their educational and training services.

Arbeitsrecht — „mein Thema” seit Beginn meiner Berufspraxis

Nach dem Studium der Rechtswissenschaften an der Rheinischen-Friedrich-Wilhelms-Universität Bonn war ich Rechtsreferendar u. a. beim Arbeitsgericht Siegburg, um danach als Rechtsanwalt für einen Arbeitgeberverband und eine arbeitsrechtlich ausgerichtete Anwaltskanzlei in Bonn tätig zu werden. Gleichzeitig arbeitete ich an meiner Promotion über ein arbeitsrechtliches Thema, die ich an der Universität Bielefeld erfolgreich abschließen konnte.

Auch nach dem Wechsel ins Personalmanagement blieben Arbeitsrecht und angrenzende Rechtsgebiete, wie Sozialrecht und Sozialversicherungsrecht, Steuerrecht und Gesellschaftsrecht ständige Begleiter. Als verantwortliche Führungskraft im Personalwesen konnte ich Erfahrungen in ganz unterschiedlichen Wirtschaftsbereichen sammeln: zunächst als Personalleiter einer Transport- und Logistiktochter einer bekannten Fluggesellschaft aus Hannover, später als Personalchef mit internationaler Verantwortung in weltweit tätigen, US-amerikanischen Service-und Maschinenbau-Unternehmen für die Erdöl- und Erdgasindustrie mit Sitz in Celle. Darüber hinaus trug ich als Director Human Resources eines ebenfalls weltweit vertretenen Automobilzulieferunternehmens der chemischen Industrie die Verantwortung für Betriebsstätten in Deutschland (Hannover und Nienburg), Schweden und Südafrika.

Die Tätigkeit in Wirtschaftsunternehmen brachte die Mitgliedschaft in Tarifkommissionen der Chemie- und der Metallindustrie und im Verband der Führungskräfte in der chemischen Industrie mit sich. Sie führte auch zur Berufung zum ehrenamtlichen Richter am Landesarbeitsgericht Niedersachsen sowie am Sozialgericht in Hannover. In nationalen und internationalen Arbeitskreisen der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Personalführung e. V. (DGfP) und lokalen personalwirtschaftlichen Arbeitskreisen habe ich lange mitgearbeitet. Auch in der überbetrieblichen Aus- und Fortbildung von Personalfachleuten habe ich mich engagiert. Darüber hinaus bin ich Lehrbeauftragter für Personalmanagement an der Ostfalia, Hochschule für angewandte Wissenschaften, Salzgitter – Suderburg – Wolfenbüttel – Wolfsburg.

Nicht zuletzt um ein hohes Maß an stets aktueller Fach-, Beratungs- und Unterstützungskompetenz als Fachanwalt für Arbeitsrecht und Mediator bieten zu können, nutze ich die Mitgliedschaften in der Arbeitsgemeinschaft Arbeitsrecht des Deutschen Anwaltvereins e. V. sowie im Deutschen Arbeitsgerichtsverband e. V. und deren Fort- und Weiterbildungsangebote.